Tagged: David Lopez

Troy’s Toy, but with Comics: So much Marvel (Belated edition)

Without going into details, life happened. Here’s some reviews:

300px-Secret_Avengers_Vol_3_1Secret Avengers #1

Ales Kot/Michael Walsh/Matt Wilson

Marvel, $3.99

Real talk, I had trouble choosing between covers. Tradd Moore’s was awesome, but Katie Cook’s Avengers Ducks was the cutest thing to ever cute, and it had a M.O.D.O.Duck! I would gladly spend $4 a month reading about Secret Avenger Ducks, please take note Marvel.

I picked this book up for 2 reasons. The first one being my wife REALLY like Spider-Woman, and this appears to be the book to read about J-Drew  with Avengers Assemble wrapping up this month. The 2nd being when the preview pages dropped, this incarnation of the book looked VERY much influenced by the Fraction/Aja Hawkeye book, a title we all know I love.

In the letters section, writer Ales Clot says this is “Michael Bay directs an episode of Breaking Bad as it meets Arrested Development. and it’s full of spies and super heroes.”. And it literally is, (I guess makes it Agents of SHIELD meet Archer), as 4 different stories are interwoven into one narrative. And it works. It’s a fun, slighty-violent read illustrated wonderfully by Michael Walsh. Walsh reminds me a lot of David Aja & Michael Lark (Daredevil, Gotham Central), and is a perfect fit for this title.

I was really excited for this book to drop, and after reading it, I’m happy to say it surpassed my expectations. Fans of Agents of SHIELD, Hawkeye, Avengers Assemble and the new Black Widow series need to get on this title sooner rather than later.

hawkeye17cvrHawkeye #17

Matt Fraction, Chris Eliopoulous, David Aja, Jordie Bellaire

Marvel $2.99

After the crazy cliffhanger dropped in issue 15, the belated issue 17 (let’s not forget 16 shipped before 15!) is an holiday issue. In March. I’d complain, but  Chris Eliopoulous, the series letter, steps up on art duties to tell the tale (OR SHOULD I SAY..TAIL? HM HM HMMM!) of the Winter Friends. And you know what? Like every issue it’s fantastic. Eliopoulous is a amazing artist, and this fun little story has get twist to it, so who cares if it’s Christmas in March right? Also holy crap, look at that cover, it is sweet, also tight. Again, you should be reading this book, and if you’re not, it’s your lose. Also I’m judging you. More so than usual.

Captain_Marvel_Vol_8_1_TextlessCaptain Marvel #1

Kelly Sue DeConnick, David Lopez, Lee Loughridge

Marvel, $3.99

Don’t call it a comeback. No seriously, we’ve only been Captain Marvel less since November, and she’s been in a number of Avenger titles since then. It wasn’t that painful y’all.

But the 2nd volume of Captain Marvel makes an impressive debut. By now, no one’s questioning Kelly Sue DeConnick’s ability to craft a great story with Carol Danvers. She’s arguably the best thing to happen to the character since Chris Claremont brushed her off from some questionable decisions back in the 80s.

David Lopez however, is the Captain Marvel artist we deserve. While there was some serious talent involved in volume 1, the final page of this issue is some next level stuff It’s a great looking book, and sets up the new status quo for Cap Marvel quite nicely. It’s a good jumping on point for new readers, and it justifies a new #1 for returning readers. Between this and the newly launched Ms. Marvel , it’s refreshing to see some great female writers produce fantastic comics, and that Marvel is recognizing that there’s an audience for these stories.

portrait_incredibleSuperior Foes of Spider-Man #9

Nick Spencer/Steve Lieber/ Rachelle Rosenberg

Marvel $2.99

This is the issues where Boomerang and the Shocker both scheme and attempt to improve their lives. But these guys are super villains, so things do not go according to plan If that’s not worth  your $3, I have no idea what to tell you. Marvel’s best book you’re probably not reading continues to be the best book you’re probably not reading, and I really wish you were. There’s some genuine moments of badassery never seen before in this book, as well as some really strong comedy stuff with amazing timing. This team is so in synch it’s not even funny, only okay, the book is hilarious, never mind that.  The first volume is out in trade, so get on it, get caught up, and buy this comic. Unless you hate good comics. If so, let me tell you what’s going on in “Forever Evil“….

Post to Twitter

I have survived NYCC, also I have bought some comics.

1382380_10152054711929050_1301273322_nI survived New York Comic Con 2013 and all I got was….a butt ton of stuff actually. Roughly $180 worth or stuff. No regrets, YOLO and such, because if I review it, I can write it off come tax time, at least I think I can. I now hope my accountant does not read my articles.

And yes,  I’ve decided to use a photo of my wife as part of my convention recap once again, because I like her Spider-Woman costume and she looks SUPER CUTE next to her most favoritest writer Kelly Sue Deconnick, who’s comics I’ve praised often round these parts. NYCC ’13 was rad overall, as I got to enjoy 2 FXX related panels, heard of the return of Stephanie Brown, watched as Marvel announced a TON of new books with awesome female leads, did some cosplay things (Check me out in the NYCC edition of Time Out New York and the Business Insider) and like I said above, bought stuff. A good time was had by all, especially Visa, so let’s get with the talking of comics.

x-men-6X-men #6 (Marvel)

Brian Wood/ David Lopez

$3.99, 20 pages

REJOICE, AS CAPTAIN MARVEL VOLUME 2 RELAUNCHES IN MARCH 2014 WITH DAVID LOPEZ JOINING THE CREATIVE TEAM! BUT ALSO BE SLIGHTLY UPSET, BECAUSE THAT MEANS HE’S NOT DRAWING THE X-MEN AGAIN ANYTIME SOON.

X-Men #6 is proof of why the later sucks, because David is REALLY good at drawing mutants, even when there is a numerous amount of them. At this point in his career, it’s scary to think that he may only get better, because he’s pretty damn good right now. I’m not sure how much of this comic was fully scripted vs. Marvel style, but Lopez’s panels are dynamic, and they deliver the proper drama needed because there are 2 ZOMG! level twists in this book. Also a hilarious scene where a baby floats away in a hamster ball (sorta) and Rachel Grey and Psylocke both being badass. That isn’t to say Brian Wood is a slouch, because chapter 7’s script is a HUGE step up from Chapter 6’s , which is a fine issue, but the stakes are definitely raised in this issue, as secrets are revealed and the plot takes yet another interesting turn. With 3 issues to go, Battle of the Atom continues to deliver thanks to A+ creators like Lopez and Wood, and I’m excited to see how this all wraps up.

 

alwarchie1Afterlife with Archie (Archie Comics)

Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa/ Francesco Francavilla

$2.99, 20 pages

 

We now live in a world where the Riverdale Gang must survive the zombie apocalypse. Truly this is the best of times.

I couldn’t tell you what the last time I bought an comic published by Archie was, even though I’ve heard a number of their books in the last few years have been both extremely progressive and good. But then they go release a zombie comic drawn by Francesco Francavilla, and BLAM, bought on day 1. It could be the fact that I love zombies, but it’s probably more of the fact that I love Francavilla’s art, which is the pretty legit, and very much gives off that ol’ EC Horror Comics vibe. It’s great stuff, as Aguirre-Sacasa’s handling of the cast is definitely in-tune with their “canon” voices, but obviously this not the Archie you give to your kids, as this issue ends SPOILER with Zombie Jughead SPOILER. Also it is violent and spooky as hell, a little sexy. Well I think Sabrina is cute and man, now I feel extra creepy for typing that. Perfect for the season. Halloween that is, although the Walking Dead hype at NYCC is also fitting in a way.

Short week is short, but don’t worry, I’ll be back real soon to scream about the return of Hawkeye.

 

 

Post to Twitter

I went to Europe, but then I came home to read some comics

The European comic shop scene is weird to me you guys. Between London, Halifax and Paris, I saw no less than a dozen comics shops, some of them named Forbidden Planet even, but man, it’s weird seeing the books I pull be considered imports. It’s also worth noting those shops were kinda fantastic, as there were things in them I was wiling to drop insane amounts of cash on. Also man the dollar sucks in the global sense, which is why I didn’t drop crazyyyyyy money. But if you’re ever in Europe, I encourage y’all to take some times to look at some of the local shops, ESPECIALLY in Paris.

X-Men005portrait_incredible (1)So yeah remember when I said I was going to take a break from the X-books and wait for the oversized hardcover  that was dropping in December? J/K, I BOUGHT CHAPTERS 3 AND 4 BECAUSE I AM WEAK! Zero regrets about that mind you (YOLO), because this event is crazy fun and serves as testament on how strong the X-line is these days. Brian Wood and David Lopez absolutely kill on their chapter (X-men #5, Marvel, $3.99, 20 pages) which should be a suprise to no one. The two had a great run on the X-men last year, and it’s great to see them work their magic once again on Marvel’s mutants. Lopez especially, who’s John Cassadyesque, only with better faces. And Woods, not unlike Bendis, is fantastic at injecting humor throughout the soap opera that is the X-men. As for Uncanny X-men #12 (Chapter 12, also $3.99 and 20 pages), Chris Bachalo and like 4 inkers (Really?!?) rejoin Bendis for a tale that had me drop at least 5 very  audible profanities as I read it. The last 6 pages of this book are insane, and are setting some some great stuff for Chapter 5. Despite my intial concerns about this book, Battle of Atom has pleased me on every level, and I cannot stress how awesome this X-event has been so far. THIS is how events should be done.

Daredevil_Vol_3_31_TextlessMark Waid and Chris Samnee are really doing their best to trying to get me to come up with new ways to praise Daredevil. This current arc, a take on the Trayvon Martin case, covers a LOT in 20 pages, making it a stral for $3. Also everytime Mark Waid writes Hank Pym is a treat, and adding him to DD’s supporting cast was a genius move. And Chris Samnee remains one of the best artists working in the industry today. Don’t let the cover fool you, there’s a lot more going in the pages of Daredevil 31 then it implies (the promised deathtraps are missed though) and you’re a fool if you’re not reading this book. Yes I’ll resort to name calling to get people to buy this title, I am not above doing as such.

tumblr_mo1jxvJbSe1rwk3plo1_500

Captain Marvel #16 ($2.99, 20 pages, Marvel) had a very fun cover, but it’s an uneven read. Which is unfortunate, as the book has been very hit or miss as of late. I’m not reading Infinity,and this book is VERY much tied into the event of this mini, so there’s a lot that I just didn’t get. A shame, because there’s some great talent giving KSD a hand with this issue in the form of  Jen Van Meter and Patrick Olliffe. And there’s a lot of strong bits spread through out the issue, as the writers have a great handle on the Avengers featured in this book. But again, if you’re not reading Infinity you’re gonna be lost. At least the 5 months of crossovers comes to an end next issue..before the book takes a small break before the rumor relaunched during ALL NEW MARVEL NOW, or whatever it’s call. Either way, this was probably the worst issue to drop in an otherwise fun run, and hopefully the break will do KSD and Captain Marvel some good.

And with that I’m caught up with my single issues. However, I did read some trades, some manga and there’s a bunch of great books coming out this upcoming week. So I’ll be back real quick (maybe).

Post to Twitter